Moon cycles (the ‘something’ in the air) and PDA 

You know those days that start off crabby? The ones where you’d love to be woken (anything past 6am) by a delightful little being who would love a cuddle but instead you are rudely awoken by an iPad obsessed grouch who just wants his immediate needs tending to instantly. 

‘Feed me & give me the ipad’ … I’m starting to wonder if I did follow these orders, how long I’d get uninterrupted sat in the sun?

However I do not bend to the rudeness and instead start the day strong full of a calm upbeatness explaining how ‘we’ can have our technology time after our outing. It’s beautiful weather here at the moment. It’s the school holidays and I’m in parenting top form and adamant that time with mum will be fun and fulfilling and not wasted on screen time. 

But there’s definitely ‘something in the air’ that I can’t put my finger on. It’s been here about the last 3 or 4 days. Mild at times. More severe at others. But most definitely overlooked until just a moment ago, and dismissed as just one of the joys of PDA. But i’ve just read a post on a very helpful PDA group from a fellow mum who remarked about the full moon… and there it is…the slap in the face of a reminder that as i’ve seen umpteen frickin thousand times before, the MOON plays havoc on my pda’er!

Somehow daddybear and I had even shared a conversation about the position of the moon last night but both neglected to acknowledge the link between this beautiful bright (almost) full moon and our niggly, moody pda’er. 

He isn’t always THIS grumpy. Sure he struggles with many a thing that drives us insane and cause him distress, but he’s not always this grouchy. 

The moon plays a role and I seem to neglect the power of this phenomenon each and every time!

Today’s moon moments included, being severely pissed off that mummagrizzlybear was not offering bacon gaps for breaky, volatile monopoly gaming, equally irritable about ‘waiting’ for friends to arrive and then ‘the traffic’ being in our way en route to our outing and then a unwarranted days worth of grouchyness towards our friends youngest child as well as an inability to engage socially with people he can usually ‘cope’ with. Now some of these things seem entirely ‘normal’ (of parenting joys) and you may only get this if you’ve experienced it…but mumma just knows when it’s more out of the ordinary and something is up! 

I didn’t discipline in the same ways today as I may have done a week ago, because something just told me another force was messing with him. 

I know the moon has taken its toll as baby pda’er bear is currently snoring away on my shoulder (8 pm ish) instead of sharing in the ‘boys-nite’ star wars movie. He’s not hurt anyone today or fully melted-down but it’s been hard work for him. He’s shattered. I’m proud of his achievements. 

The moon revelation reminds me that each month I say I’ll make some kind of a chart to track the moods and cycles to compare and analyse and then I sit here and smirk because a) I’m not really going to do this and b) because I already can predict the findings! Not only this, but I have also thought many a time about also tracking PDA difficulties with my own cycle and although with this too I am convinced there is a link, a chart tracking mummagrizzlybear’s hormones alongside challenging behaviours will probably only lead to negativity and self-criticism!

Scientifically of course i’ve attempted to find research to quantify the lunar effect theory  (I.e. I have googled it!) But in the absence of anything concrete I also remind myself that ‘their’ research was probably not done on a community full of those with varying ASD forms. 

So the next time I hear anyone utter the words “there must be something in the air”, I plan to first check out the lunar cycle before critiquing parenting because for me there really is a link!

Author: mummagrizzlybear

I write for my own therapeutic release of the stresses we encounter as a family navigating the SEN world with Autism and PDA. I am passionate about reducing isolation and encouraging everyone to create a #virtualvillage of a support network so that nobody on this journey of parenting needs to feel alone or inadequate. You can comment on a blog, or drop me an email at mummagrizzlybear@outlook.com or come and find me on facebook at http://www.facebook.com/mummagrizzlybear … whatever you do, please do not feel alone.

Leave a Reply

